top of page

Ivy House poets: Joan


I’ve lived between Nunhead and Peckham Rye for twenty-five years and have seen the Ivy House go through several incarnations. But throughout good and bad times it has always held on to its zany, unique character. The community woke up to what a fine establishment it was when the pub was in danger of being demolished. We rallied and now the Ivy House is a centre of our community. Whether it’s drinking, dancing, knitting, politics, parties, theatre or quiet times by a crackling fire, the Ivy House has it all. It’s even got poetry! I’m actively involved with my neighbourhood and participate in art events, street parties and various social gatherings. For over ten years I’ve documented Peckham and Nunhead, resulting in a photography book Feckham Peckham. I’ve also published Grave Art, celebrating our cemeteries. I’m a regular contributor to Peckham Peculiar. I’m a poet with a pretty good record of publishing and public readings, but when this project came along I found it challenging to adapt to performance poetry. Yes, I love both performing and poetry but my style tends to be succinct and humorous. So, the process of arriving at what was wanted for the film was tough. Still, one must be extended and challenged. On the night, it all went off splendidly and I’m very happy to have participated and to have had my moment in the Ivy House limelight (gold curtains at my back) and to make an appearance in Sarah’s film, Public House, which I predict will be brilliant.


Subscribe to our newsletter for updates

Thank you - we'll let you know what's happening soon...

upcoming events:

 

Mar '15 Mass mobilisation

follow the film: 
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
and the Ivy House: 
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
recent posts: 
tags:
No tags yet.
bottom of page